Central Otago Awards Announcement

​8 August 2017

Community Service Recipients and Finalists Announced For 2017 Central Otago Awards

A celebration of Central Otago's finest began today with the announcement of the 2017 Central Otago Awards Community Service Award recipients and the finalists for other award categories.

Now in their 8th year, the biennial awards honour excellence, innovation, big hearts and the remarkable contributions of Central Otago people.

There are five Community Service Award recipients in 2017. They are Judy Elliott Hall (Alexandra), Carol Haig (Clyde), Heather McPherson (Cromwell), Rod Peirce (Roxburgh) and Valerie Smith (Naseby).

"Collectively and selflessly, these remarkable people have given so much over decades—it is simply who they are and what they do. Their commitment and love for their communities demonstrates that Central Otago is in very good heart and it epitomises our regional spirit," says Regional Identity Manager, Shirley Howden.

Finalists in the other award categories are:

Young Professional Award - Morgan Grundy

Youth Award – Alex Darling, Sam Darling, James Sutherland

Apprentice Award – Luke Bottriell, Dave Ewan, Thomas Gibbons

Business Excellence Award – The Central App, Gary Anderson Solutions for Sound & Vision, Maniototo Café, The Real Dog Equipment Company

"These people are adding real value through good practice and delivering excellence. They are the heart and soul of our community," Ms Howden said.

The winners of these categories will be announced at an awards ceremony being held in Roxburgh on Friday 8 September. The five Community Service Award recipients will be presented with their awards at the event.

Guest speaker at the awards ceremony is Sam Johnson, co-founder of WeVisit and Adjunct Fellow in the School of Education and Leadership at the University of Canterbury. Mr Johnson is well-known for founding the Student Volunteer Army after the Canterbury earthquakes.

A short profile of each of the Community Service Award recipients follows. Full profiles of these recipients and award finalists for other categories can be found at www.centralotagoawards.co.nz.

Community Award recipients

Judy Elliott Hall
The Alexandra community has reaped the benefits of Judy's incredible generosity, energy and enthusiasm for community work. She has made a remarkable and enduring, decades-long contribution as a leader and participant in a raft of local organisations, including the Alexandra Volunteer Fire Brigade and Alexandra Victim Support.

Carol Haig
Carol's participation in the Clyde community spans 40 years and many organisations including the Clyde Volunteer Fire Brigade, the Clyde Theatre Group, Clyde Playcentre and Clyde School. She has boundless generosity and positivity for her community and its people, lending a hand in big and small ways, and always wanting the best.

Heather McPherson
With a strong sense of community health and development, Heather epitomises the essence of community service. She has driven progress in many community-based organisations and events in the Cromwell Basin. Over 20 years, her leadership and passion for the arts have guided the Cromwell & District Arts Council to become a thriving, positive organisation.

Rod Peirce
A truly inspirational volunteer, Rod has made an extraordinary personal contribution to the successful development of the Clutha Gold Trail. For over a decade, his leadership, vision, hard work and unwavering commitment at both a political and practical level to 'get the job done' has created a hugely significant recreational and economic legacy.

Valerie Smith
Valerie's lifetime contribution to community and church is awe-inspiring and special. For nearly 40 years she has taught Sunday School and a regular lunch-time programme to school children, as well as undertaking chaplaincy services when needed. Many Maniototo organisations have benefitted enormously from Valerie's selfless service to others. ​​

Page reviewed: 09 Aug 2017 11:57am