Council Cemeteries

​​​​The Council aims to provide professional assistance. The services and facilities we provide for burials and cremations are designed to meet the range of bereavement needs.

Central Otago District Council maintains 11 cemeteries located at Alexandra, Clyde, Cromwell, Naseby, Nevis Valley, Omakau, Ranfurly and St Bathans, of which three are closed – Hamiltons in the Maniototo, Litany Street in Cromwell and Manuherikia burial ground.

Cemetery burial records and site maps are held in Alexandra, Cromwell and Ranfurly and are available for public viewing. These are a great asset for those researching their family history. Our staff are happy to help search for any specific records.

Central Otago District Council has specific bylaws relating to cemeteries that outline the type, size and upkeep of memorials. You may also like to refer to the Central Otago Cemeteries Strategy.


After Hours Bookings

You can make a provisional booking by calling outside normal office hours on (03) 440 0056. You will still need to fill in the relevant form to confirm the booking.

Page reviewed: 13 Feb 2017 1:59pm