​​Central Otago district has 176 bridges. Bridges include culvert structures with a waterway of at least 3.5m2.
The number of bridges located in each ward is:

  • Cromwell 18
  • Earnscleugh/Alexandra 17
  • Manuherikia 49
  • Maniototo 64
  • Roxburgh 28

There are 23 bridges which have weight restrictions on them.

Central Otago Bridge List

Upcoming review of our district's bridges

Many of our bridges are nearing the end of their life. A significant number of these bridges are located on low volume roads where alternative routes exist and the economic viability of their replacement needs to be considered. We will be undertaking more detailed structural inspections and impact assessments within the coming three-year period to inform community discussion regarding the shape of our network in the future.

Page reviewed: 10 Jul 2015 12:14pm