State Highway Roads

The following State Highways run through the district:

SH8 (Raes Junction to SH8B intersection at Cromwell and continuing to the top of the Lindis Pass; includes Centennial Ave, Alexandra), SH85 (Alexandra to Ranfurly and including Tarbert St, Alexandra), SH8B (Intersection of SH8 and Deadmans Point Bridge in Cromwell to the intersection of SH8A and SH6), SH6 (branches at Cromwell to Roaring Meg in the Kawarau Gorge and to Queensberry on the road to Wanaka).

These roads are under the control of the New Zealand Transport Agency (NZTA), which is responsible for all maintenance and operational aspects of the roadway (i.e. between the kerb lines). However, Council is still responsible for the amenity aspects of the State Highways. This includes the footpaths, landscaping and litter control.

For the day-to-day management of the State Highways in the Central Otago region you should contact Opus Consultants who are the agents for the NZTA. They can be contacted on (03) 440 2400.‚Äč

Page reviewed: 05 Dec 2013 6:01am