Audit and Risk Committee

Chair: Linda Robertson (Independent)

The Audit and Risk Committee provides governance and oversight in the areas of audit and risk to ensure appropriate systems and practice are delivered throughout the Council and its activities. It meets three times per year and as required.​​

Community Services Committee

Chair: Stephen Jeffery
Deputy: Shirley Calvert

The Community Services Committee oversees and encourages the sustainable development of the Central Otago economy, including tourism and promotions, and contributes to regional economic development strategies. It provides a basis for policy decision making on ​the standard of parks and recreational facilities, libraries and visitor centres. It also ensures that there is an appropriate management strategy for Lakes Dunstan and Roxburgh, and the Clutha River and tributaries. It meets on a six-weekly basis on the same day as Council.  


Planning & Environment Committee

Chair:  Neil Gillespie
Deputy: Martin McPherson

The Planning and Environment Committee ensures the maintenance and development of all specified facilities and services meet the goals and objectives set by the Council.  Its activities relate to building control, liquor licensing, environmental health, dog control and registration, noise control and gambling, and any other areas or issues of a regulatory nature applying throughout the Central Otago district. It meets on a six-weekly basis on the same day as Council. 


Hearings Panel

Independent Commissioner / Chair: ​ Neil Gillespie

The Hearings Panel is a subcommittee of the Planning and Environment Committee. Its members consider and make decisions relating to the District Plan and a major component of the Panel's job is to hear applications for resource consent. The Panel meets on a monthly basis or as required.


Roading Committee

Chair: Barrie Wills
Deputy: Stu Duncan

The Roading Committee provides a basis for policy decision making as to the standard of roading, roading maintenance and the funding of that maintenance. It meets on a six-weekly basis on the same day as Council.


Three Waters Infrastructure Committee

Chair: Malcolm Topliss
Deputy: Lynley Claridge

The objectives of the Three Waters Infrastructure Committee (formed in October 2013) are to provide a basis for policy decision making as to the standard of water, wastewater and stormwater, and to develop and implement a District Three Waters Strategy. It meets on a six-weekly basis on the same day as Council.


Waste and Property Infrastructure Committee​

Chair: Nigel McKinlay
Deputy: Victoria Bonham

The Infrastructure Committee is responsible for matters relating to the Council service delivery areas of waste minimisation, public toilets, property, community facilities and aerodromes. It meets on a six-weekly basis on the same day as Council.


District Licensing Committees (DLCs)

Chair: Bob McNeil
Deputy: Neil Gillespie

With the introduction of the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 on 18 December 2013 DLCs were established to replace district licensing agencies.

From that date, DLCs are responsible for considering:

  • all licence applications and renewals
  • all managers certificate applications and renewals

The committee, made up of a chairperson and two members selected from a list, meets monthly if required.


Awards Selection Committee

The Awards Selection Committee's main role is to assist with judging the TrustPower Award applications.  From time to time the committee may also be called to assist with the selection process for other awards. The Committee includes the Mayor as the Chair as well as each Community Board Chair.


Emergency Management Committee

The Emergency Management Committee assists Council to meet its responsibilities under both the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002 and the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977, and ensures Council is prepared to respond to a civil defence emergency and or rural fire event. It meets on the same day as Council as required.  The Mayor chairs the Committee, which includes each Community Board Chair.


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for overseeing any matters that need an immediate response.  Its members are Mayor Tim Cadogan, Neil Gillespie, Sharleen Stirling-Lindsay, Robert Hazlett and Raymond Gunn.


Funding Assessment Committee

The Funding Assessment Committee is responsible for overseeing the distribution of funds for national funding organisations such as Sport New Zealand and Creative New Zealand.  The Committee is made up of two councillors - Crs Martin McPherson and Shirley Calvert  - as  well as representatives from the Roxburgh community, tangata whenua and a representative from each of the community arts councils within the district. It meets as required.

Page reviewed: 11 Apr 2018 5:30pm