2019 Local Body Elections



Click through to see the Nominations for Central Otago District Council 2019 Triennial Elections​​

Key dates for the 2019 Elections​

From 17 July   Elections will be advertised and nominations called
19 July       ​Nominations open
​16 August​Nominations close at midday
20 September  Voter packs mailed to electors. Voting opens​.
12 October    Voting closes at midday. Progress result as soon as possible thereafter.​
By 17 October    Official result released
From 17 October  Official result advertised

Meet the Candidates Events

​A list of opportunities for the public to meet the candidates being organised by community groups.  If you know of an event we don't have listed here please let us know via communications@codc.govt.nz​

​When​Where​More details
Wednesday ​28 August, from 1.30pm​St Aidans Church Hall, Alexandra​​Mayoral and Council candidates forum organised by Grey Power Central Otago. Contact bmlorenz@xtra.co.nz​
Thursday ​5 September, 6.30-9.00pm​Alexandra Memorial Hall, Skird Street, Alexandra​​Public forum to meet and listen to candidates for Otago Regional Council, the Southern District Health Board, the Central Otago District Council and Vincent Community Board. 
Panel discussion questions and topics can be emailed to: ourcentralotago@gmail.com​ by 30 August. 
​Tuesday 17 September, from 7.00pm (sharp)​Cromwell Presbyterian ChurchCombined Cromwell Lions and Rotary event. The meeting will include all candidates standing for election in CODC (Mayor and Cromwell ward), Cromwell Community Board, Otago Regional Council (Dunstan) and Southern District Health Board (Central Otago-based candidates). Contact greg.a.wilkinson@gmail.com​

Candidate Information

A Candidate Handbook​ for the 2019 election is now available that covers the Central Otago District Council and Central Otago Health Inc. elections.

Click on the image to the left to download this document (PDF, 1.6MB).

If you are thinking about standing for local government, be sure to also check out the Candidate Preparation Videos ​​prepared by Local Government New Zealand that we have loaded to our site. ​

You can also find more information for candidates on the Local Government New Zealand website http://www.lgnz.co.nz/vote2019/.​​

Pre-Election Report

The Pre-Election Report differs from most of Council's external public documents in that it is a report from the Chief Executive
Officer, produced independently from all elected Council members. 

The aim of this document is to promote informed
discussion leading up to the elections. 

It draws information from a number of sources and is intended to provide a snapshot of the current Council's direction and performance.

Click on the image to the left to download this document (PDF, 3MB).

Nomination Forms

Election Signage

​​​​​Below are maps for the pre-approved sites for Election Signage in our district. Please note Delta supervision is required when erecting signs. 


If you are enrolled as a parliamentary elector you will automatically be placed on council's electoral roll as a residential elector. If you need to enrol or update existing name or address details on the parliamentary electoral roll, you can do so at any Post Shop, online at www.elections.org.nz or by phoning 0800 36 76 56.

If you pay rates on property within the council area but live outside that area you may be eligible to enrol as a ratepayer elector. Download a copy of the ratepayer enrolment form​.


If you need any further information about these elections, please contact:

​Electoral Officer​Deputy Electoral Officer

​Anthony Morton
Ph 0800 398 683

​Beth Fulton
03 440 0056​​

Page reviewed: 16 Aug 2019 2:14pm