Central Otago Award winners announced


14 September 2013
The winners of the 2013 Central Otago Awards were announced on Friday evening (13 September) at a special ceremony in Roxburgh.

The now biennial awards recognise the businesses and individuals that exemplify the spirit of the region and that integrate the region’s values into their everyday lives.

The winners are:

James Botting – winner of the Youth Award
The Roxburgh Area School Year 13 student was described in his nomination as representing the spirit of the region’s “a world of difference” motto. The 17-year-old has been involved with St John for eight years and is currently working towards his Grand Prior Award with St John.

The judges observed that James has “mana, stick-ability and has demonstrated a wonderful depth of dedication”.

He heads the school’s 40-hour Famine Committee, is the Students Against Drunk Drivers (SADD) committee convenor and has been heavily involved in the school’s annual community gala.

Ryan Bain and Paul Duncan – joint winners of the Apprentice Award
Ryan is a light vehicle apprentice with Robbs Garage in Roxburgh. He stood out for his exceptional work ethic and the genuine care he takes with customers.

Paul is an auto electrician apprentice at Davis Auto Electrical in Alexandra. His employers said in his nomination: “If we could clone Paul, we would. He’s one in a million and it shows in his work and attitude”. 

BTW South Limited – winner of the Business Excellence Award
The judges observed that BTW South was a standout young, dynamic and growing business that had made a conscious decision to adopt a best practice approach to how it does business.

BTW South has experienced a 400% growth over the past six years. It has demonstrated an excellent understanding of the opportunities and challenges in its competitive environment and has made strategic decisions about how to add value for its customers. 

Pioneer Generation – highly commended in the Business Excellence category
The judges also awarded a commendation to Pioneer Generation. It was noted the company has managed significant growth in recent years despite tough market conditions; and that it operates an inclusive leadership style, encouraging innovation across the whole business.

Community Service Awards
Community Service Awards were also presented throughout the evening, recognising individuals who have made a significant contribution to the well-being of the Central Otago community over a significant period of time. Recipients of Community Service Awards for 2013 are:

Helena Heydelaar
Helena was a founding committee member for events that are now part of the Central Otago region’s identity, including the Cavalcade and Thyme Festival. She has also had a long-standing involvement with Central Stories Museum and Art Gallery. The judges described Helena as “an expression of love for this district and its history” and a true ambassador of the Central Otago brand.

Maureen Davies
For the past 45 years Maureen has encouraged people – young and old – to appreciate and love their environment. She has been involved in Keep Alexandra Clyde Beautiful since soon after its inception and is currently chair. The judges described Maureen’s impact on others as “community building”.

Kath Thomas
Kath is described by her Naseby community as “one of those people who every town needs”. She has been involved with Naseby Vision, the Naseby Museum, the Maniototo Early Settlers Association, the Naseby Information and Craft Centre, Maniototo Curling International, the New Zealand Winter Games, Victim Support and the Naseby and Surrounding Goldfields 150th Jubilee.

Russell Lambeth
Russell has had a 43-year association with the education camp Tititea, described as “a magic place where enormous positive personal change often takes place” thanks in large part to the commitment of people like him.

Russell Fawcett
Russell’s service to St John Ambulance and Probus were noted, but most particularly his passion and commitment to the Alexandra Musical Society was recognised. Over the years he has been a stage manager, committee member, president and set designer/builder/painter. These days he is a life member, patron and can be found selling programmes at the annual production. 

Ella Davison
Ella has given 50-plus years’ service to her Roxburgh community and it was noted she is showing no signs of slowing down. Her contribution has been extraordinary in both its breadth and depth. Politics, health, education and welfare have all benefited from her attention over the past five decades.

All the award winners for 2013 were presented with a handcrafted recycled glass trophy made by artisan Phil Newbury of Invercargill. The trophy design was inspired by Central Otago’s landscape, history, contours and colours.

The guest speaker for the evening was New Zealand Breakers basketball general manager Richard Clarke who inspired guests with a message about having a vision and building a winning culture.

Page reviewed: 14 Oct 2013 9:41am