Central Otago Awards finalists announced


19 August 2013

Finalists for the 2013 Central Otago Awards, together with the recipients of the Community Services Award, have been announced. These awards recognise the businesses and individuals that exemplify the spirit of the region and that integrate the region’s values into their everyday lives. 

Central Otago Brand Manager Shirley Howden said the judging panels were impressed with the calibre of entry across the range of award categories.

The finalists are:

  • Paul Duncan from Davis Auto Electrical and Ryan Bain from Robb’s Garage for the Apprentice Award. This Award promotes outstanding training and personal achievement of apprentices working in any industry. It also serves to raise awareness of career opportunities in Central Otago. The judges were looking for commitment to training and skill acquisition, initiative in the workplace, exceptional customer service and someone who is a team player.
  • Breen Construction Ltd, BTW South Ltd, Closeburn Station and Pioneer Generation for the Business Excellence Award. This Award recognises businesses that demonstrate sustained success, are recognised as leaders by their peers and have built substantial business scale. The judges were looking for vision, a sustainable approach to business (including management systems, company structure, planning and marketing), exceptional customer service, a focus on innovation, investment in staff and community involvement.
  • James Botting of Roxburgh, Paige Richmond of Alexandra and Meghan Scanlan of Roxburgh for the Youth Award. The Youth Award recognises young people (aged 13 to 20) who epitomise outstanding leadership in their particular field of interest, separate to school activities. They have generally filled several roles over a period of time and show outstanding leadership qualities.

The Community Service Award recognises individuals who are making a significant contribution to the well-being of the Central Otago community over a significant period of time. These people contribute countless hours and make a very real difference to their communities.

Recipients of this award are Ella Davidson of Roxburgh, Kath Thomas of Naseby, and Helena Heydelaar, Maureen Davies, Russell Fawcett and Russell Lambeth all from Alexandra.

Winners will be announced at a special Awards Ceremony to be held on Friday 13 September in Roxburgh, with New Zealand Breakers’ general manager Richard Clarke as guest speaker.

For more detail about the finalists go to www.aworldofdifference.co.nz.

Page reviewed: 16 Sep 2013 11:38am